top of page

Arezzo via Sienna


Not that you really should care but I began my day as usual with a refreshing morning shower today. With the luke-warm water raining from the shower above, onto my black African-style-curly hair, then down to the rest of my body, my eyes closed, life was a blessing indeed. For a second, I forgot where I was and that was okay! Oh my, there was something different about that shower! Now, are you wondering why I am telling you about my shower? Well, the truth is I want you to know that taking a nice morning shower can be just about as good as a couple of hours in Sienna on a beautiful rainy morning!


Breakfast was quick, and of course great. Maybe not like the shower. We hopped on the bus and we were off to Sienna. The bus drive was sure sweet with all the beautiful sceneries that mother nature had to offer! In many ways the bus rides in Italy are just more exciting that in the plains of Oklahoma, not to mention. Texas. I loved every single second I looked out through the bus window to flirt with mother nature (that’s normal, right?)


On arrival to Sienna, we were welcomed by some light late morning showers. My Walmart purchased umbrella came really handy at this point. Trust me, I knew it would rain! It happens every time my early morning showers feel different!

First, we began our time in Sienna with a briefing about St. Catherine's Church. St. Catherine was the

brave and courageous woman who gave her life to chastity with a strong belief that she was married to Jesus Christ Himself! She was also fond of the Pope's company and she surely challenged all kinds of status quo she found along her way.


Because of these, she was very much the people's. In the church, is her head and a finger. We were informed during the briefing that different parts of her body were buried in different parts of the the country - in different churches

We then proceeded to Sienna Cathedral. This was a different thing altogether! It was Spectacular! The entire building was covered in beautifully crafted marble. Then the interior? It was gorgeous! Every single inch of the interior was beautifully decorated too. It was probably the only Church with an actual library. The library was a much better preserved section of the church with an Amazing specter of beauty! It was very colorful!


Sienna was such a nice small town with quite a history. We sighted the first bank in modern human history. In fact, the word bank was born in Sienna. The term bank originally derived from the word desk.


The Medieval streets were also very admirable and completely enjoyable to walk on. The light showers we had at the beginning were simply a welcome to Sienna. Our good bye was a little over rated! It was a down pour with hail stones.



But regardless of the rain, we had a really great time in Sienna. I loved the small town so much!


Our bus journey then continued to Arezzo. It was a smooth and lovely journey to hotel Continentale. We checked in and the climax of the day or should I say our welcome was a Pizza party! That was really sweet of our hosts at The Santa Chiara Monastery!


It was a day well spent!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page